Neutron Scattering Society of India (NSSI)

Neutron Scattering Society of India (NSSI), originally named as Indian Neutron Scattering Society (INSS) was formed on 11 June 2008 during a meeting of neutron users at Mumbai with an objective to promote the research and development activities of neutron-scattering science and applications. Another aim to form NSSI was to represent the neutron users in the Asia-Oceania Neutron Scattering Association (AONSA), which is an affiliation of neutron scattering societies, which directly represent users in the Asia-Oceania Region. By this NSSI could become one of the founder members of the AONSA along with, Japan, South Korea, Australia and Taiwan.

The Managing committee of NSSI has been formed with members from several universities (at Varanasi, Chandigarh, Goa and Delhi) and national institutions (BARC, TIFR, IITM, and UGC-DAE-CSR) representing various users and the spectrum of neutron scattering activities. At present NSSI consists of about 190 members from universities and institutions spread all over the country. Two members of NSSI are in the executive committee of the Asia-Oceania Neutron Scattering Association (AONSA), and one member is an observer. NSSI as its first major endeavor was associated with International Symposium on Neutron Scattering held in Mumbai during Jan 14-17, 2013. Earlier, it was associated with the "School and conference of neutron scattering and mesoscopic systems" held in Mumbai and Goa during Oct 5-14, 2009.

A National Facility for Neutron Beam Research (NFNBR) has been operating for more than two decades at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre for basic and applied research in condensed matter science. The present-day facilities in Dhruva reactor include, single-crystal and powder diffractometers, polarization analysis spectrometer, Hi-Q diffractometer, triple-axis & quasi-elastic scattering spectrometer (all installed in the reactor hall), two small-angle scattering instruments, and a reflectometer (in the guide-tube laboratory). Details of these instruments can be found here. The National Facility is regularly utilized by scientist within Bhabha Atomic Research Centre apart from more than 200 users from various universities and other academic institutions. Support for the collaborations is available from University Grants Commission- Department of Atomic Energy-Consortium for Scientific Research (UGC-DAE-CSR), Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences (BRNS), and other agencies in India.

Neutron Scattering Associations:

Asia-Oceania Neutron Scattering Association
Australian Institute of Nuclear Science and Engineering (AINSE)
Canadian Institute for Neutron Scattering
European Neutron Scattering Association
Japanese Society for Neutron Science
Neutron Scattering Society of America
Societe Francaise de la Neutronique
Swiss Neutron Scattering Society